HABITUAL TRAFFIC OFFENDER
In the course of our daily lives, it is extremely inevitable that in one way or another we commit traffic-related offenses whether minor or major, civil or criminal. It can be labeled as something that is inevitable given that no matter how much care one gives in driving, other drivers might cause accidents or other types of anxiety on the road. Furthermore, given the nature of traffic offense ticketing, it is also not uncommon that any given driver may accumulate surchargeable points because of the point system for offenses sanctioned during ticketing by traffic police officers.
Not only is any given driver being penalized for an offense he or she has committed. Aside from the fines, most of the time, a surchargeable point is placed on the driver’s traffic record. In due time, these traffic violation points will accumulate rupturing into another offense which can significantly cause a headache to the driver because of other sanctions associated with it.
Under the Massachusetts General Law, laws pertaining to a wide variety of traffic offenses have been prescribed. Penalties depend on different conditions and the gravity of offenses. Offenses are calculated not based on the calendar year but based on the most recent offense committed within at least a 12-month period depending on the offense and frequency.
First, committing three speeding tickets in a 12-month period results in a mandatory 30-day license suspension.
Second, drivers committing three surchargeable events within a 24-month period is also penalized. A mandatory Driver Retraining Course is to be completed within 90 days upon receipt of notification from the Registry of Motor Vehicles. Failure to do so would result in suspension of license until course completion and a $100 reinstatement fee.
Third, suspensions are imposed for cases involving an accumulation of 5 moving violations or surchargeable events within a 3year period. Further, as the Massachusetts General Laws stipulate, an in-person Driver Retraining Program through the NSC is to be mandatorily completed.
Fourth, seven moving violations and/or surchargeable events within a three year period mandate a 60-day license suspension. A notification is sent to the offender by the Registry. A $100 reinstatement fee is to be paid before the license can be obtained again.
Lastly, a suspension of license is imposed when a driver accumulates a total of three major moving violations or a combination of any of the 12 major and minor moving violations with a five year period. This includes violations involving driving to endanger, fraud license, leaving the scene of accident, driving under suspended or revoked license, driving without license, or driving while under felony charges. Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90, Section 22F mandates a four-year license revocation. Upon receipt of notification by the RMV and the suspension period ends, the driver in question will be required to take a full driver’s license exam ($65) and pay a $500 reinstatement fee.
Hardship licenses are offered only on certain conditions. This may sound hopeful but this is not applicable to all who commit traffic offenses habitually.
What to do?
Given the point system for traffic offenses, it is highly inevitable that any given driver will accumulate points with or without his notice. As stated above, the penalties and fines are too severe to even ignore.
Well-versed attorneys can assist in saving your license from all those penalties and fines or get you a hardship license in order to facilitate your everyday driving needs.