Massachusetts mandates the revocation of individual driver’s licenses upon any given driver’s conviction of certain minor and major offenses. Aside from fines, penalties such as suspensions or revocations can be imposed depending on what is prescribed by the law.

Driving privileges and rights are lost by an individual when he or she commits violations of existing traffic rules aimed at ensuring road safety for all road users. A notification is sent to the driver in cases of habitual violation. In cases of on the spot violation, a driver is given a ticket. It is understood that when he is notified, he would have already understood that he is to pay fines and suffer penalties such as suspension or revocation of license. It is also understood that he or she will no longer be able to continue enjoying driving privileges until suffering the period prescribed or reinstatement.  However, still many drivers take the risks and continue on driving with revoked licenses.

Under Massachusetts law, driving with revoked licenses is a criminal offense with several punishments. Worst of all, it is a criminal misdemeanor offense which forever tarnishes your driving record and might potentially cause troubles in the future.


Under the provisions of the Massachusetts General Law c.90 s.23, penalties for driving under revoked license include a fine of at least $500 but not more than $1000, a mandatory 60-day license suspension, and 10 days imprisonment. A subsequent violation of the above also increases the possibility of spending 60 days up to 1 year in jail plus $1000 fine and 60day loss of license.

It should be noted that if the reason for revocation of license was due to alcohol-related offenses, a separate and more severe punishment is imposed for driving under revoked license. Fines range from $1000 up to $10000 as well as a mandatory imprisonment in the house of corrections for at least 60 days but not more than 2.5 years.

First offense (non-
alcohol related)
$500-$1000 10 days 60-days
Subsequent offense
(non-alcohol related)
$1000 60 days -1year 60 days
Driver’s license is
under alcohol-related circumstances
$1000-$10000 60 days -2.5 years -

What to do?

Most offenders do not realize the gravity of driving under suspended/revoked licenses. Thus
many drivers readily commit the violation. This should not be the case. Given that this is a
criminal case, it can forever leave a mark on an individual driver’s driving activities. Apart from
penalties and fines mentioned above, a convicted driver also suffers from criminal misdemeanor
mark which will forever be on his record.
Thus, it is more than imperative to avail of the quality professional services offered by our
experienced lawyers in the field of traffic violations. They are time tested when it comes to
contesting traffic violation charges and finding ways to avoid the driver of costly, inconvenient,
and stressful sanctions,

If you or a family member has received a ticket, it is wise to contact our lawyers quickly. We can help you fight to keep your driving privileges and your insurance premiums as low as possible.

Hire an Experienced Traffic Attorney in MA

Finding the right traffic and speeding attorney in Massachusetts is crucial when facing potential legal consequences and seeking expert guidance. Our firm stands out as the premier choice for legal representation across the state. Discover how our dedicated team can meet your specific legal needs, providing you with the best possible outcome for your traffic and speeding violations. Click here for a complete list of towns where our services are available

Want to talk an experienced attorney

Fill out the form below